Pacenet Logo

EC - FP7

FP7 is the short name for the Seventh Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development. This is the EU's main instrument for funding research in Europe and it will run from 2007-2013. FP7 is also designed to respond to Europe's employment needs, competitiveness and quality of life.
FP7 is structured in 5 specific programmes. The INCO-NET projects launched in the frame of the “Capacities” programme are dedicated to the reinforcement of the cooperation in S&T at regional level by establishing and strengthening the dialogue in S&T between EU and the targeted region in order to:

Pacific Islands – EU relations: Focus on Climate change
Pacific Islands – EU cooperation

The Pacific Plan for Strengthening Regional Cooperation and Integration, adopted by Pacific Islands Forum (PIF) leaders in 2005, sets out the region’s goals on cooperation and integration from 2006 to 2015 in four areas: economic growth, sustainable development, governance and security.
As a response to the Pacific Plan1, in 2006 the European Union adopted the EU Strategy for a Strengthened Partnership with the Pacific and in 2012 the New Commission Communication: Towards a renewed EU-Pacific development Partnership. The Commission uses a combination of policies and financial resources to put the strategy into effect:

  • Increased development assistance to Pacific Countries and the region.
  • Enhanced EU-PIF political dialogue, through participation in the Annual Forum Meetings and Ministerial Troika Meetings. The dialogue covers matters of common interest, ranging from regional security and governance to economic stability and growth, international trade, environment, climate change and development cooperation.
  • Trilateral Pacific dialogue with Australia and New Zealand at Heads of Mission level, covering: country situations, peace and security in the region, Cairns Compact, climate change, Aid for Trade, energy, budget support and delegated arrangements.

Does climate change have any visible impact on Pacific Countries now? Read more on:

EUCARINET Fostering European Union - Caribbean Research and Innovation Networks
EECA - S&T International Cooperation Network for Eastern European and Central Asian Countries
INCONET-GCC - Science and Technology International Cooperation Network for Gulf Cooperation Countries aiming at the promotion of bi-regional dialogue
EULARINET - European Union - Latin American Research and Innovation NETworks
MIRA - Mediterranean Innovation and Research Coordination Action
CA/SC - International Cooperation Network for Central Asian and South Caucasus countries
SEA-EU-NET - Facilitating the Bi-Regional EU-ASEAN Science and Technology Dialogue
CAAST-Net - Coordination and Advancement of sub-Saharan Africa-EU Science & Technology Cooperation Network
WBC-INCO.NET - Western Balkan Countries INCO-NET